Author Topic: what to do to be FE  (Read 61062 times)

Offline otis1111

• Rate Post
what to do to be FE
« on: May 18, 2011, 19:51:16 »
Hey, I'm a newb to the Airforce and am in Borden training as an AVN. Can anyone please tell me what I need to do in my career to become an FE. Very few people have info on this trade or so it seems.

Any info is greatly appreciated.

Offline Ditch

• Established 1998
  • Mentor
  • Army.ca Veteran
  • Rate Post
  • I routinely step in it, but like conflict...
Re: what to do to be FE
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 22:15:58 »
First of all - complete training at Borden.  You are taking the right route - get qualified as an AVN and complete your first tour.  Apply for VOT to FE in the last year of your posting (which could be 7-9 years).  I know lots of guys who have taken this route.  Keep in mind that the bigger the aircraft the higher in rank you must be to fly on it.  Expect to start off on a helicopter or smaller twin engined aircraft.
Per Ardua Ad Astra

Offline Baden Guy

Full Member.

• Question everything. Learn something. Answer nothing.
  • Army.ca Subscriber
  • Army.ca Veteran
  • Rate Post
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2011, 20:45:08 »
I spent my career as an AVS tech working on and flying in military aircraft. Great job great career.

But otis1111 I would love to be able to start on a hangar floor again and end up being a FE.  :nod:

Best of luck with your career.

Offline otis1111

• Rate Post
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2011, 20:59:30 »
Zoomie,

Thanks for the info.

Offline PuckChaser

• Directing Staff
  • Army.ca Fixture
  • Rate Post
    • Peacekeeper's Homepage
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2011, 07:19:29 »
I've heard some rumint that FE may open up as a VOT option for trades other than AVN, do you know if there's any truth to that, Zoomie?

aesop081

« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2011, 12:05:39 »
I've heard some rumint that FE may open up as a VOT option for trades other than AVN, do you know if there's any truth to that, Zoomie?