Author Topic: Fmr CFS Shelburne sold to Yarmouth contractor  (Read 3541 times)

Offline milnews.ca

• Info Curator, Baker & Food Slut
  • Directing Staff
  • Army.ca Relic
  • Rate Post
    • MILNEWS.ca-Military News for Canadians
Fmr CFS Shelburne sold to Yarmouth contractor
« on: November 25, 2011, 22:08:34 »
A Yarmouth man paid $125,000 Thursday for a vintage military facility with a tax assessment of over $2.8 million.

Roger Sullivan also has to pay $48,442.58 in back taxes along with HST and a 1.5 per cent municipal deed transfer tax for the former Canadian Forces Station Shelburne.

Sullivan bought the land and more than a dozen buildings at an auction held in a cavernous motion picture sound stage, which is what the property had become in recent years.

Sullivan, stepping out for some fresh air after his purchase, said he’d never done anything like it before.

"I own some woodlots," he said. "That’s about it."

He said he’s not a developer.

"I’m a contractor . . . marine construction."

His company, Tri-County Construction, builds wharfs.

Sullivan said he has no immediate plans for the property. When asked if he thought it was a good investment, he said: "When it was at $100,000, I thought it was. . . . Time will tell if it is or not. I’m not sure."

He said he was very surprised that only two or three bidders registered for the real estate portion of the auction. Anyone wishing to bid on real estate had to hand over a $100,000 bank draft before bidding.

Sullivan’s new property includes more than a dozen buildings, including a former military guardhouse, barracks, classrooms, garages, a sewage treatment plant and a huge, 33,200-square-foot building turned into a motion picture production centre.

The now defunct South West Shore Development Authority acquired CFS Shelburne in 1999 and sold it in 2008 to Seacoast Entertainment Arts Inc. for development as a film production studio.