Author Topic: New Zealand to buy Boeing P-8 patrol planes  (Read 1822 times)

Offline Dimsum

West coast best coast.

• Mentor
  • Army.ca Veteran
  • Rate Post
  • I get paid to travel. I just don't pick where.
New Zealand to buy Boeing P-8 patrol planes
« on: July 09, 2018, 21:59:44 »
I'm no expert here, but I'm counting 4 of the 5 Eyes countries switching to the same patrol aircraft...

WELLINGTON (Reuters) - New Zealand has agreed to buy four Boeing P-8A Poseidon maritime patrol planes, Defence Minister Ron Mark said on Monday, strengthening surveillance capabilities as it works to counter the rise of new powers, such as China.

New Zealand is responsible for patrol and rescue missions in an area of the Pacific Ocean bigger than Europe and plans to step up its engagement in the South Pacific, where it is losing sway over small island nations to China.

Mark said the aircraft were acquired from the United States through its foreign military sales program and would cost NZ$2.34 billion ($1.6 billion), including training costs. They would be operational in 2023.

New Zealand’s military had been looking to replace its aging P-3 Orion fleet, and the upgrade pulls it in line with the capabilities of its Five Eyes intelligence-sharing partners - Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom and the United States.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-newzealand-defence-procurement/new-zealand-to-buy-boeing-p-8-patrol-planes-to-boost-south-pacific-surveillance-idUSKBN1JZ07J
Philip II of Macedon to Spartans (346 BC):  "You are advised to submit without further delay, for if I bring my army into your land, I will destroy your farms, slay your people, and raze your city."

Reply:  "If."

Offline PuckChaser

• Directing Staff
  • Army.ca Fixture
  • Rate Post
    • Peacekeeper's Homepage
Re: New Zealand to buy Boeing P-8 patrol planes
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2018, 23:07:24 »
When they come out with the aircraft after the P-8, then we'll start the 10 year project to buy the P-8.