• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

few questions from a military girlfriend!

astrokara

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

My name is Kara and my boyfriend is currently in St-Jean and will complete his training next month. From there he is going to Borden for a year, and I would love to go up there with him. However, there are just a few things that I'm curious about and don't know where else to turn!

Is it worth him trying to get a PMQ in Borden, or is it better for us to find an apartment in Barrie? I don't know that it's any cheaper for a PMQ, and I've even heard that they don't come with a fridge or an oven (?) and I'm just unsure of what the best course of action is. Is it a huge commute from the city to the base?

Also, what are my chances of finding a civilian job in Borden? I have a Sociology degree from Dalhousie University and am bilingual, if that improves my chances at all.

Thanks so much in advance for your help! I'm excited about this whole new world that the military has opened up for my guy & me and our future together!

- Kara :)

astrokara said:
Hello everyone!

My name is Kara and my boyfriend is currently in St-Jean and will complete his training next month. From there he is going to Borden for a year, and I would love to go up there with him. However, there are just a few things that I'm curious about and don't know where else to turn!

Is it worth him trying to get a PMQ in Borden, or is it better for us to find an apartment in Barrie? I don't know that it's any cheaper for a PMQ, and I've even heard that they don't come with a fridge or an oven (?) and I'm just unsure of what the best course of action is. Is it a huge commute from the city to the base?

Also, what are my chances of finding a civilian job in Borden? I have a Sociology degree from Dalhousie University and am bilingual, if that improves my chances at all.