• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Is there a limit to the kind and amount to "kit" a member can have?

ab136

Inactive
Reaction score
Questions I have wanted to ask for a while now.
I'm in the recruiting process; not a member yet.  When someone does BMQ the idea is not to standout...blend in with everyone else. When you get posted, that idea seem to go out the window.  I see from different threads that members resole their boots with special treads, accessorize(sp) their kits with different pack and straps, and holder,and.........etc. I work in construction now and I am always looking for something; a tool, to make my job easier.  Is it the same in the CF?  Can you carry basically anything you think will make you job easier?  I have read that officers are the only ones permitted to carry side arms(pistols). True/False?  I have also read that some members accessorize(sp) their C7s'.  Do you have your own personal C7 or do you just get one randomly issued when needed?  Wow quite a few questions!!!

talking about accessorizing, would a 3 point tactical sling be acceptable at most units?  The regular sling is awful.

This will vary from unit to unit.  As I've said on here before, as a CO I had a policy designed to make soldiers generally look "similar" (NOT identical!), as I personally believe a degree of standardization in the types and locations of kit carried is operationally desirable.  Not everyone agrees, however, and I'm sure there are some units where a much greater degree of variety is allowed (correspondingly, there may be some that require an absolute degree of standardization).  There may also be circumstances where more variety is allowed; in the infantry, for instance, soldiers on recce or fighting patrols generally have wider arcs regarding personal kit (subject to the patrol commander's intent, of course) than they might while "in the line".