• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

MARS Training

ekpiper

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello everyone.  I'm currently a Corporal with the E&K Scots, and I am an R871 musician (bagpiper).  I am going through university for a computer science degree, and I think that once I am done, I will go in to become a MARS officer.  By that time, I should be roughly a sergeant.  Will I still need to go through Basic Officer Training if I change trades and elements?  Is any merit given to the PLQ course and time in?  Thanks for your input,
ekpiper

The PLQ should write off your IAP at least...  I heard something about the Army considering their PLQ a BOTP equivalent too.  Navy, I am not sure.  I am sure someone will set me straight on this pretty soon

Big thread regarding that here.  It may have some answers for you.

ekpiper, what is holding you back from making the change right now under the ROTP programme?

Hello everyone.  I'm planning on becoming a Reg Force MARS officer, and I'm trying to decide whether ROTP or DEO would be the best course for me.

I am currently a Corporal with the Army, specifically a bagpiper.  So to sum up, I'm going from Army, Reserve, NCM, Musician to Navy, Regular, Officer, MARS.  As a result of it being such a completely unrelated field, even as a Sergeant I don't think I'd be given much in the form of equivalence were I to go DEO at the end of my degree.