• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Seaforth Highlanders (Vancouver reserves)

Bhenji

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi, I'm currently a student attending first year college, and I'm very interested in joining a reserve force while I study (quite possibly transferring over to regular force after I finish). I have a few questions about joining though...
My choices of units are either the Seaforth Highlanders, which are light infantry, and the British Columbia Regiment, which is armoured recce. Now I think I'd prefer infantry more, but I'd like to ask what kind of training the armoured recce soldiers get, and how different it is to infantry training. Also, my heritage is nowhere near scottish, but the Highlanders are a scottish regiment. What is it like being in a regiment with a heritage like that? Also, I've seen them march in kilts... now I'm not opposed to kilts (well maybe a little), but would being in that regiment mean my dress uniform would include a kilt instead of regular trousers? I don't know how manly I'd feel in a kilt...

Anyways, thanks for taking the time to read this and hopefully answer my questions!

Bhenji said:
My choices of units are either the Seaforth Highlanders, which are light infantry, and the British Columbia Regiment, which is armoured recce. Now I think I'd prefer infantry more, but I'd like to ask what kind of training the armoured recce soldiers get, and how different it is to infantry training.

There is some info regarding what Armour Recce Reservists do in the threads I posted below. I'm sure there are a few others on the forum. Also, you may want to contact/visit the unit and ask some more questions and see what they do.
http://army.ca/forums/threads/99028.0
http://army.ca/forums/threads/106448.0

Bhenji said: