• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Sent on exercise in old trade

Status
Not open for further replies.

meni0n

Reaction score
Good day,

I have a question, I've done a OT in 2009 and have been waiting to go on course. I've been attach posted to my old position while I am waiting to get on course.

I have been informed I will be on exercise next week in my old trade's position.

Given that I am no longer in that trade, can I be tasked to do the job of my old trade on a exercise?

You can be tasked to do any job you are qualified for, or any that don't need specific qualifications.

So i cannot deploy in that job capacity but I can still be put on a exercise performing that job?

I thought that when you do an occupational transfer you are no longer employable in that trade.

An operational task is usually restricted by trade when only one trade has the qualifications to execute the role. Tasks for employment on exercises seldom has that embedded limitation.

Changing trades does not automatically invalidate your previous qualifications. 

If the exercise was in Hawaii would you be complaining about it?

One important question:

Do  you have any Medical Employment Limitations (MELs) that would preclude you from performing certain tasks in your old trade?

No I do not.

By that same thinking, I could be qualified and be posted and then someone says oh wait we need a sig op to fill this position on a exercise, you were one before, now you're a sig op again?

Once you change trades, your file says your new trade and you are considered as part of that trade.