• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Type 1 Diabetes

BosnMac

Inactive
Reaction score
Looking for anyone to help me look into DB for Type 1 Diabetes. I’m a 7 yr Vet, released 3B,  i had developed type 1 diabetes while serving in my fourth year. I’ve been a proud CF member with no family history of T1D.

Has anyone here developed T1D while serving? Did you get a favourable decision?

It's very hard to prove that the military caused your Type I diabetes. Type I is insulin dependant, and usually is either from birth (even though it can be discovered later) or from complications developed from Type II. Certain drugs, especially PTSD drugs, can make you pre-disposed to Type II, but this type is usually more easily controlled by diet and exercise.
The problem is finding  a doctor to prove your diabetes was directly caused by your military service. If you can do that, you should be able to get a favourable decision.

Personally, I have never dealth with anyone in the forces who developed Type 1 diabetes. I know of a few people who developed Type 2 diabetes, and only 1 who got a VAC award from it.

paleomedic said:
. . .  I know of a few people who developed Type 2 diabetes, and only 1 who got a VAC award from it.

And did that one person who received a VAC award get it because his condition's onset occurred while he was in a special duty area?  I've also known one person who received a VAC pension for Type 2 diabetes as well as a few with CAD (they has heart attacks in theatre) and their pensions were based on the "insurance principle".  That's the important reason to report to competent medical authority (and ensure that they document it) any legitimate medical complaint that arises while on operations.

https://www.veterans.gc.ca/eng/about-us/policy/document/1447