• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Using your own tools.

patrick666

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey, I am thinking of applying for FCS/ED Tech as well as Engineer but just had a question about using my own tools. I have a Mastercraft digital multimeter and a Fluke ammeter as well as miscellaneous hand/power tools used commonly in the Electrical trade. When you are on course, are the tools supplied? That's what I'm thinking. But if I want to use my ammeter, is that possible? Does everyone have space for their personal tools or is there a communal tool system?

Cheers

Yes the tools are supplied ,of good quality (Klein tools and the like for Ed TECh). You have to sign for a complete toolbox, are responsible for it and stuff. You can "work" at your unit with personal tools ,but it is not  suggested. What if that nice piece of kit of yours disappears. At the shop ,we have lots of all kinds of tools, name it... You sign for it, do your job, clean it up, bring it back...

Sorry to butt in, but do you know if the sign for it, do your job, clean it up, bring it back policy apply to other Tech trades? (411 Veh Tech in particular)

Yes ,the same applies. The mechanics are issued a big tool kit/drawers/cabinet with all the regular tools in it. For high ticket items, you sign them out of the tool crib. As a normal "army" thing, you're responsible for what you sign for and expected to bring it back clean and ready to go for the next user...

Patrick H. said: