• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Being realistic and ROTP

mear

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello All,

If you are a recruiter reading this, I would really appreciate your time.

I have been doing much searching on this forum about the ROTProgram and I have read and learned alot about the training. I came across a few posts requesting honest opinions about their chances of acceptance and have found the answers to be very insightful.

So...in turn I would like to just detail my situation, and I would also appreciate all input and advice.

---------------
High School: I graduated from the International Baccalaureate with Honours and advanced standing (top 5 of my school). Some work experience and leadership positions (Swim Instructor and Head Lifegaurd, and won numour Judo medals)

University: At UofT and completed 2 years of a HonBA. Joined a reserves unit. Extensive campus involvement (2 VP positions and cofounder of an NGO). I went from working as an Instructor, to being an assistant manager, to my current position of Executive Assistant and Hiring Director at a public opinion Firm. Basically I have alot of managerial skills. Here is where it gets ugly --- I support myself and pay for my own education, thus I work 35-40 hours a week, and made the youthful mistake of taking a full courseload because "everyone else is doing it" and as a result my grades are in the 60s.

NOW. I have NO excuse for these marks and I kick myself everyday for this.

I want a military career and I personally know I have potential and that I can and will prove myself given the opportunity.

Can I possibly prove this to whomever reads my application? How realisitic is it for me to even hope to be admitted to ROTP???
------------------------

Any feedback is welcome.

mear said:
Can I possibly prove this to whomever reads my application?