• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Drill Lesson

S

swoop_ds

Hey everybody,
I'm new to this forum and I have a question.  I'm teaching two drill lessons as part of my plq mod 2 training.  I got assigned two fairly easy ones, saluting and marking time.  The problem is, I can't seem to find the count for marking time in my drill pam.  Is it '1,2, left right left' or 'check, 1, left right left' or '1 left right left' or something else entirely??  Also, when marking time in quick time are the thighs brought parallel to the ground or is the foot only lifted 15cm?  Thanks for the help in advance.
-Dave

I'm not really an expert on this, seeing as how I am only on my second weekend of BMQ, but I think it is Check, Left, Right, Left. And in quitck time, thighs are brought parallel to the ground. Hope I'm right on that, but if not, sorry in advance.

ON THE COMMAND, "MARK TIME BY NUMBERS, SQUAD - ONE", is given as the right foot is forward on the ground.   Squad members shall:

a. Take a 15 inch pace with the left foot, placing the foot flat on the ground;

b. Bring the right foot into the left in a straight leg manner, not scraping the ground, and adopt the position of attention;

c. Simultaneously, cut the arms to the sides and assume the position of attention; and

d. Maintain the same cadence

ON THE COMMAND: "MARK TIME BY NUMBERS, SQUAD - TWO", squad member shall:

a. Bend the left knee so that the thigh is parallel to the ground and the foot is at a natural angle;

b. Place the toe on the ground before the heel, as the leg is lowered; and

c. Continue to mark time until the command FOR-WARD or HALT is ordered.

Hope that help's a little.

Going by the lesson plan, it appears that the timing is (called on the right foot) "check, in, left, right, left)