• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

From CELE to AERE

excerciseboy

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi Every body. this is my first time posting, but defiantly not the first time reading. Usually all of my questions have been answered in the past, but this time i had a personal question and need the help of the experienced.
I just got my offer of ROTP for CELE , but i was hoping for AERE (my first choice). my question/ concern is that if I accept , are there ways to change to AERE. (Because first year courses are similar for engineers).
I do have acceptance to other universities for aerospace engineering.
The dilemma is that I want to be part of the CF, but i also want to do aerospace. And my ROTP offer only allows me to do only one. 
What do you guys say?

If you find someone to trade trades with, you would likely be able to do it. However, it is very difficult otherwise.

First, I'd just like to clear something up:
CELE and AERE are military occupations. They have nothing to do with 'similar first year courses'.
At RMC, the Mechanical Engineering department has begun offering an aeronautical (or aerospace, not sure which) specialization.
Almost any science or engineering degree is applicable to either CELE or AERE.

Now, for changing from CELE to AERE, this process is called a VOR (Voluntary Occupational... Reassignment? I know the acronym, don't think I've ever heard anyone spell it out before though :S ). You can put in a request for this, although it's never guaranteed.

Hope this helps.

For what it's worth, doesn't CELE offer more career opportunities than AERE such as courses, postings etc.?

Ya I know you love aviation, but....see above!

Thanks for all the help. Some misconceptions are gone and the choice seems clearer. I'll keep you guys posted on what I'll do. But this doesn't mean that I'm closed for suggestions.  :army: :salute: