• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

How competitive is DEO MARS?

chewyjosh

Inactive
Reaction score
I have submitted my application for the position listed in the title, I'm just curious to determine how competitive it is. From all the backposts I've read on this board, it seems that it is always in demand because people are either deterred by, or choose to withdraw frrom, the heavy academic component of the training. Is this correct? I am just wondering because, I'll be honest, my university GPA is not outstanding and I have no volunteer experience. I do, however, have a lot of leadership, teamwork, and communication work experience.  Will I have an opportunity to defend my grades, or is it strictly GPA? For example, my introductory chemistry was a 62 because I couldn't see how I would ever need to figure out how many mols of something I have, but Environmental Chemistry was a 94 because I enjoyed the systems and real world applications. Would I have an opportunity to adress issues like that, and how my success in a class is related to how applicable a class is (which I assume the academic portion of MARS training is), or is GPA everything?

By all means, let me know if this should be posted in the recruiting section, but I was hoping to get responses from those who have been selected as MARS officers and what their stories are.

chewyjosh said: