• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

MedTech Training: NCM-SEP vs. MOC@JIBC

ColeWTaylor

Inactive
Reaction score
I'm currently in the application process of joining the CF as a Medtech. I've completed everything and have applied for NCM-SEP @ Cambrian College. I have received my acceptance from the school and have been merit listed for my trade.

I know the difference between NCM-SEP and the MOC training. My only concern is if I don't get NCM-SEP this year should I try again next year or push my application towards entering unskilled and doing my MOC training at JIBC.

- Upon graduation from JIBC will I have a diploma in my hand?
- If for some reason I leave the CF (which is not my plan), will I be a certified Primary Care Paramedic?
              - If not, can I attempt the A-EMCA (Ontario resident) in order to acquire my certification.

Anyone that has gone the JIBC route I would appreciate your input and experiences.

Another twist in my situation;

If I do not get offered NCM-SEP or MOC@JIBC this year I have to decide whether I want to stay at Cambrian College(CMA Accredited school) to complete their two year Paramedic program and continue to apply for a MedTech position OR go to Northern College (Not CMA Accredited) to do their two year Firefighter and Paramedic program which would most likely dismiss my chance of joining the CF as MedTech...

Thanks in advance!

ColeWTaylor said:

JIBC is a certificate program:
"Upon successful completion, you will receive Primary Care Paramedic Certification from the Justice Institute of BC, and  be eligible to apply for licensure within British Columbia through the Emergency Medical Assistant Licensing Branch":
http://www.jibc.ca/programs-courses/schools-departments/school-health-sciences/paramedic-academy/programs/primary-care-paramedic

ColeWTaylor said: