• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Naval Cadet in Afghanistan?

Mainz

Inactive
Reaction score
After time in the US Infantry years ago, I am now a Naval Reservist Officer Cadet. I am heading to Venture the end of April for IAP / BOTP / and NETPO. Will be finished on August 25th.

Apparently it is not possible for me to get the Mars III and MARS IV section until late spring 2008.

In reading the article below I am seeing that Gen Hillier is suggesting to 're-role' some Navy and Army personnel in order to free up infantry personnel.

http://www.cbc.ca/canada/story/2006/11/21/reservists-pressure.html

I would be interested in volunteering for a six month support position in Afghanistan if my Naval Reserve arse could be of any serious use over there. What would be involved? Is it possible? What type and length of pre-deployment training would be involved?

I am willing to volunteer for this, and be away from my family and kiddos for this time, if it would be of use, so serious suggestions
and advice only please.

Respectfully

Mainz

If your not DP1/TQ3/battle school qualified in a canadian trade,you aint going.

Mainz, I can't find the post here...but I believe someone said a canforgen went out stating MARS types must have their D levels before being considered for A-stan. I think that means you must have your BWK certificate.

I'm surprised you can get your MARS IV next year. I was told it would be 2009. Like you I'm going to Venture end of April - if the paperwork goes through. (Long story.)

I'm also ex-army and we're the same age. Looking forward to meeting you on course. Let's show the young pups what it's all about.

x-grunt said:
Mainz, I can't find the post here...but I believe someone said a canforgen went out stating MARS types must have their D levels before being considered for A-stan. I think that means you must have your BWK certificate.