• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

NCSTTP NWT looking to continue education and recieve degree after training.

Ixlr84u

Inactive
Reaction score
Good Day,  I am a student under NCSTTP and am about to begin my 4Th semester as an NWT under this program.  When I joined, I was originally supposed to complete my training at CFNES in Halifax.

After completing BMQ, I was sent to Halifax and learned of the NCSTTP program in St. Johns, Newfoundland.  Under this program,  I receive a diploma from the Marine Institute and am promoted to an acting-lacking Leading Seamen upon completion of that stage of training.

This diploma can be upgraded to a Bachelors of Technology with the completion of 12 more courses.  All of which can be done in a classroom, as well as through correspondence.  I currently hold an 80% average overall in my course, and would like to improve upon this.  With all of this said, I have a few questions.

First, I would like to know how I would go about continuing my education after this program and receiving the degree I mentioned earlier.

Secondly,  if I were to complete my degree, what are the career possibilities associated with this?  Being a student at a civilian institution, I must complete a period of obligatory service.  As far as I know, it is not possible to commission while on obligatory service.  Is this true?

It is my desire to make a career of the military and I would like to express my utmost ambition to being as of much service as I can.  It is my desire to be commissioned, but I remain very humble in saying this and by no means suggest that I have any sense of entitlement to such an honor.  As such, I would also like to know the best path of action in pursuing such a goal. 

I appreciate all forms of feedback on this topic.

Thank you.