• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Pipe Bands

Conscript

Inactive
Reaction score
Ok simple question I think.  I assume theres 1 or 2 military pipe bands floating around so my question is,  Do you need to enlist as a musician to play in one?

Any other info on this topic would be great too.

No.  Some of the bands will take people who are not musicians by trade.  I know a few guys in the 2 CMBG Pipes and Drums who are Engineers.

PMedMoe said:
No.  Some of the bands will take people who are not musicians by trade.  I know a few guys in the 2 CMBG Pipes and Drums who are Engineers.

Good to hear, thanks for the quick reply!

The Regular Force pipe bands are all volunteer organizations; that is, they are not the primary duty of those involved.

The Reserves have both volunteer bands and dedicated bands; in the latter, the members are military musicians.

dapaterson said:
The Regular Force pipe bands are all volunteer organizations; that is, they are not the primary duty of those involved.

The Reserves have both volunteer bands and dedicated bands; in the latter, the members are military musicians.

So basicly when I join Reg I just show up with my pipes and see if they want me?

Conscript said:
So basicly when I join Reg I just show up with my pipes and see if they want me?

Depending on where you end up; there are a lot of volunteer bands across Canada, both Civlian/Military as well as Regular and Reserve.

If you're keen on ensuring where you go has a band, do some research... there's lots of info on the forums here, just search around.

Keep piping.

:piper:

I know that the 413 Wing AFAC Band is always looking and they teach too.  (small plug for my band, just a newb piper)  and the 8 Wing band is always looking for pipers and this year they will be teaching.  There's P&D bands everywhere.

:piper: