• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Pte to Ocdt

Neogalv

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello,

Currently i'm a Pte in the reserves and i was thinking of switching to Ocdt. I have completed my BMQ, SQ and will have my 404's in a few weeks. Is it possible to change to Ocdt? Would this be done by sending a memo up my chain of command? I've asked a few people (i.e. section commander) and no one really knows. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

(and yes i have a university degree).

Since you do have a degree, that is possible.  Your CO would have to agree/sponsor you and he/she would have to want you to be an officer in his unit.  You will have to do the officer basic.

You would have to submit a memo to make the request, and then go through the Officer Selection Process - including a Regimental Board, PSO interview, etc, to determine if your unit will support you in becoming an officer.  If they accept you, and you already have a degree, you'll be commissioned as a 2Lt and sent off on course.

It is NOT a quick process, it can take a lot of time.

Redeye said:
You would have to submit a memo to make the request, and then go through the Officer Selection Process - including a Regimental Board, PSO interview, etc, to determine if your unit will support you in becoming an officer.  If they accept you, and you already have a degree, you'll be commissioned as a 2Lt and sent off on course.

I think the PSO interview and board are only required for RegF is it not?

Nope, every unit has a boarding process of some sort.  The PSO interview is part of the process too.

Redeye said:
Nope, every unit has a boarding process of some sort.  The PSO interview is part of the process too.