• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Question about reserve(NCM) to eventual reg force(Officer) service.

pheonix1995

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am a current high school student in Surrey B.C. (Grade 11). I was hoping to gain some perspective as to how i should plan out a career in the Canadian Forces. I would like to as the title indicates be an officer(preferably combat arms) in the Canadian Forces.

I have been pondering the idea of joining the reserves(infantry) and doing my BMQ and SQ over the summer or whenever applicable.

I plan on going to university after high school and hope to obtain a degree in criminology. I have looked through other forms concerning a component transfer/occupational transfer from NCM (reserve) to Officer (regular) and what i would need to do to end up as a Regular force officer.

I was hoping for some insight into my specific situation and how I should go about doing this.

I also want to gain some leadership/officer attributes and skills as an NCM in the reserves if i do join and see it as a stepping stone in furthering myself and my personal confidence no matter what my ultimate career choice is.

I hope you guys can help me out on this and I look forward to hearing from you!

Cheers-
Jaret