• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

The best course of action to remuster as a SARtech?

squatch

Inactive
Reaction score
I've completed my BMQ, and am sitting on PAT pl, and contemplating the merits of my choice as an Infantry soldier, if i'm hoping to remuster as a SARtech later on.  I am considering an OT to Engineer, or Medtech,  as they are more suited to the SAR trade, I am also a trained paramedic.  Of course there is the Pioneers in the Infantry...........  Any advice from those who KNOW! would be greatly appreciated.

Of course there is the Pioneers in the Infantry........... 

Hate to be the bearer of bad news - Pioneers are long gone.  :-[

squatch said:
I've completed my BMQ, and am sitting on PAT pl, and contemplating the merits of my choice as an Infantry soldier, if i'm hoping to remuster as a SARtech later on.  I am considering an OT to Engineer, or Medtech,  as they are more suited to the SAR trade, I am also a trained paramedic.  Of course there is the Pioneers in the Infantry...........  Any advice from those who KNOW! would be greatly appreciated.
???  Engineer?  Medtech?  Pioneer?  I don't know where you are getting your information, but it is not very good.

SAR Techs have to be extremely physically fit.  They have to be very knowledgeable in First Aid.  None of the things you mentioned comes close to these requirements.

SAR Techs can come from any Trade, but you would not be wrong going Infantry.  Get a Jump Course, and lots of First Aid Crses.  Become a First Aid Instructor.  Things like that will do you much more towards an OT to SAR Tech, than learning how to be an Engineer, or how to fix Medical Equipment.  As was mentioned, forget Pioneers.

Stay with the Infantry and work hard.

George Wallace said:
???  Engineer?  Medtech?  Pioneer?  I don't know where you are getting your information, but it is not very good.