• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

TUAV's

pteosborne

Inactive
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone here has done the UAV training and deployment. I put my name in for it (not that I'll be going as I'm only an Apprentice ane they genrally want level "A"'s)
But was wondering about where the training is (its rumored to be moving to Aldershot) and the training conditions as well as working conditions on deployment.
Any answers would be great as they are a bit scarce (or perhaps misleading) here, and first hand knowledge would be great.
-Oz

TUAV training is currently done by 408 Squadron in Edmonton. Roto 6 ground school is in progress.

What happens next seems rather uncertain - Rotos 7 and 8 may or may not be trained, but there is no expectation of deployment. We are supposed to be the last, with the first deployment of CH146 replacing us.

Plans may, of course, change.

It depends upon when you were told what you were told and by whom. Your info could of course be more current.

Yea, I got an E-mail at work stating theres going to be a meeting about this topic in a few weeks.  I should know more then.

The word we got out here fits in with what you've said Loachman. 

I threw my name into the hat, but we'll see what happens; there seem to be a lot of 'ifs' involved.

For a number of reasons - Manley Report, news articles, and more-in-the-know sources - it appears that what we were last officially briefed upon in December is outdated.

I appear to be the only one on Army.ca with any direct experience with UAVs.