• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

64 Pattern Webbing

Jim1348

Inactive
Reaction score
Need a bit of help here. I'm a writer of military mystery fiction. Can anyone tell me when the Infantry units actually rec'd the 64 pattern webbing? I was in the Black Watch Depot in 66 and we were using the older web gear for basic training.

Appreciate all comments regarding webbing of the mid 60s.

Jim

No.

I've just managed to forget about it and the psychotherapist says I'll have a relapse if you make me tell you.  ;D

This site is usually accurate concerning Canadian uniforms and equipment.

http://mpmuseum.org/index3.html
. . . . . WE'64 was not widely issued to the Regular Force until 1966 - 67 and was not issued to the Reserves until the late 1970s. . . . .

Jim1348 said:

Topic: 64 Pattern Web Gear >>>>>> http://forums.army.ca/forums/threads/38292.0

Try also the site and forum at: http://www.canadiansoldiers.com/

When I served with "The Ladies" of Montreal, starting in 77. I was issued the CF. 64 Pattern webbing, however had US gear
found it superior to CF. So U were wearing the 51?

we64_set.jpg

The Canadian Provost Corps
1946 - 1968

Canadian Web Equipment 1964 Pattern

http://mpmuseum.org/postwarequipment2.html

Joined the reserves late 76/early77 and was using 51 pattern till about 1980, we started seeing 64 pattern, but never enough of it and only limited items. Then in 84 we started getting 82 pattern. this was in Vancouver.

The 64 pattern was a joke as far as anything a soldier needed.  The failure to include ammunition pouches of any kind suggests it was designed by the same gang that came up with the unification CF uniform. Gun tape and locking wire was the norm to keep it together.  How could so many hard earned lessons from WW1 and 2 be ignored.

AlDazz said: