• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Anaerobic: bad or good?

JB 11 11

Inactive
Reaction score
I’ve been training up in preparation for when my trades open up, which, from what I am told could be as soon as March.

Anyway, I have been training for about 6 months off and on, and just came back from a month or so off. Before the break, I was averaging my cardio circuit (5km of hilly parks trails) in about 24-25 minutes with a personal best at 20 minutes (although I could not walk properly for about week after that one!)

Since then, I’ve been reading up a lot on the Forums about training with a heart rate monitor and training within my THR (60-90% of my max).
Well, I just picked up a basic rig yesterday and had a first go with it this morning. First here are the numbers I came up with for myself:

Bottom End THR:
220-32 (My age)-48(my RHR)= 140x 0.60= 84 + 48(RHR)= 132
Top End THR:
220-32 (My age)-48(my RHR)= 140x0.90= 126 + 48= 174

So, my THR is some where in between 132-174 bpm and that’s what I used on this mornings run.

The results of this run: duration was 26.2 minutes with an avrg. HR of 167 and a max of 183. I was in the THR for 18.9 minutes out of the 26 and was over the 90% mark for just about the remainder.

Judging by what I’ve read here and elsewhere, I was pushing well into anaerobic territory, and going with a chart on Wikipedia on the subject(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Exercise_zones.png)
I was anaerobic for more than half the run.

My question is this: For cardio development, is that a bad thing or a good thing?

For me, my goal is to be able to easily meet and exceed the JTF fitness requirements. I figure it’s about the best bench mark one can have going into the forces. But will training at this intensity get me there? Or should I be slowing things down and really work within the THR as much as possible?

JB