• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Civilian Paramedic Re-enrolling In the Reserves

nsmedicman

Inactive
Reaction score
I am a civilian paramedic at the Intermediate Care Paramedic level (Nova Scotia). I am going through the process of re-enrolling in the Reserves. What QL will that give me when I am finally enrolled? Before I left in 2003, they weren't exactly sure what they were going to do with me.

What were you before, at what trade level and rank?   More details if you want an answer.

I can assume you were R711?

I enrolled in 2001 as a MED A. When I left (due to civilian employment) in 2003, they still didn't know what to do with me. I was at the same civilian qualification that I am at now. After two years, I left as a Private QL2 (in limbo).

The reason that I ask, is that there is an infantry unit 20 minutes from me, and the closest Fd Amb is almost 2 hours away. I am trying to decide what would be the better options for me. By sounds of things, it might just be easier to join the infantry.

I am a paramedic with 12 years experience in a couple of urban environments, paramedic instructor/facilitator and field preceptor. I would like to make the best contribution I can. I would hate to see that experience go to waste. Not that I am unwilling to be an infanteer; BRING IT ON!!!

nsmedicman said:
I enrolled in 2001 as a MED A. When I left (due to civilian employment) in 2003, they still didn't know what to do with me. I was at the same civilian qualification that I am at now. After two years, I left as a Private QL2 (in limbo).

The reason that I ask, is that there is an infantry unit 20 minutes from me, and the closest Fd Amb is almost 2 hours away. I am trying to decide what would be the better options for me. By sounds of things, it might just be easier to join the infantry.