• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Cut in weight, or should I be okay?

Alderson

Inactive
Reaction score
I've been working out for just over 2 years now in preparation for joining the Military. I was informed earlier today that I'm (finally) on the Merit list.
Currently I'm bulking and sit at 6'3'', 215lbs. I want to say I'm roughly 15-16% Bodyfat, so it wouldn't hurt to lose a little.

I've been mainly focusing on weight training, and little on cardio.

Would you guys/girls recommend that I cut down to 200lbs, to help me with the runs, and other bodyweight exercises?

congrats on the merit listing.
I find that at 6'3", 210-215 lbs is a sweet spot if you get your body fat down to 10%. That's my goal.

Expect to shed some weight during BMQ, I would consider you to start getting into a running routine. Since you basically run every morning during PT, or every other day.

GreenWood said:
Expect to shed some weight during BMQ, I would consider you to start getting into a running routine. Since you basically run every morning during PT, or every other day.

That's the plan, I'm normally in the gym 4-5 days a week anyways. So, I'll just hop on the treadmill tonight and see what my base cardio level is at and hopefully design an effect cardio plan around that in time for BMQ.

Either basic training has increased in intensity considerably over the last 30 years, or folks are taking this way too seriously.  When I went through (granted, 30 years ago), the only folks who seriously struggled were the sedentary "sloppy fat" types.  The merely bulky or heavyset types didn't have any serious problems.  I was cycling to and from work and running six miles a day prior to basic and dropped a fair bit of weight before I got there (reported at 210 lbs at 6'2").  I GAINED weight during the course because the food was good and I wasn't getting enough exercise.  ;D