• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Disability pension (VC) and rehabilitation?

Amos

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello
new here
Joined in the early 80's, got out after 20 years, retired. Not medically released. Because of several service related injuries, I have been drawing a pension for several years before getting out. My pensionable condition was never bad enough at the time for medical release. So I was allowed to continue working in my trade. 
Since getting out, condition worsened and got reassessed. Ok.  I've continued to work, I could not live on my small pension, not enough to live on and pay my mortgage and kids etc... but I was unable to work full time. I wasn't aware I could be eligible to other programs. 
Long story short, I've just been approved for rehab.  This makes me really anxious!!! What now? I'm scared I will have to quit working completely and not have enough money to live on! My job pays well, I just can't work it many hours.
I've spent the last week reading on the different programs but I find it all very confusing and have more questions than answers.

Allo, if you are on rehab you should have the earning loss benefit 90 % of your pre release salary. Your case manager should guide thru this process. Other benefits can be available depending on the effect of your injuries on your capacity to work.

See career impact allowance, see diminish earning capacity

http://www.veterans.gc.ca/eng/about-us/policy/document/2126

http://www.veterans.gc.ca/eng/about-us/policy/document/1971

Hope this help

Cosmo

Thanks for info Cosmo12

I've just been approved for rehab but I had no idea I was eligible for it since under the old plan. 
Just not able to work enough to be making enough money lately.