• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Educational Waiver?

PetitorVeritas

Inactive
Reaction score
I apologize if this topic is covered somewhere else, but my search didn't turn anything up. I stopped in at my local CFRC today in order to book my CFAT and the Corporal booking my appointment asked me to bring in my high school and college transcripts on the day of the test. I informed him that I never completed high school (I dropped out in Grade 9) and that I had entered college as a mature applicant. I have a 3-year advanced diploma in Mechanical Engineering Technology from Algonquin College, having graduated with honours last April. He ended up having to speak to his superior, who informed me that, while I can continue the application process and take the CFAT, they will likely need to get an educational waiver because I don't have the minimum Grade 10. Now, while I'm slightly at a loss as to how having a post secondary education can be considered less important than high school, I understand the inherent bureaucracy of the system and don't fault anyone for doing their job. I certainly wasn't trying to be dishonest in my application, I truly believed my diploma would trump the fact that I hadn't completed high school. My question is: can I expect this to significantly delay my application process? What exactly is involved in obtaining such a waiver and will anything be expected of me?