• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Gaining Weight and Running

Warvstar

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello, Ok im 125lbs and I am trying to add 10-20lbs in 3-4months. Now my problem is I have a very high metabalisim and I cant eat / buy enough food to gain weight. But what makes it worse is that I have to run more, I need to be running every other day at least. Now this is a big problem for me as that is something my gym trainer is telling me to avoid because it is burning to many calories off of me. Any suggestions? Also this may sound very stupid, but I had to ask somewhere.

I'm no expert, but I've had some experience with this.

Being 125 lbs is not necessarily bad.  You just need a combination of cardio fitness,
muscle strength and endurance.  You likely want to gain weight, but you may want more
muscle mass than flab.  Flab hower, stores water and it not bad to have some during
longer marches. 

Personally, I found no problem running (cardio exercises) and weight training, as long
as you eat the right amounts.  Try to figure out food groups where a meal or snack
is made up of "70% carbs and 30% protein" (70/30) and "40% carbs and 60% protein"
(40/60), where the % represents mass.  Eat your three meals a day.  30 to 60 minutes
before exercising, eat a small snack of 70/30.  Milk, cheese, fish, meat, eggs, soybean are
good examples of complete protein sources.  Breads, cereals, vegetables, pastas, are carb
sourcs examples. Protein powder isn't necessary if you eat well.  30 minutes after your
exercise rountine, eat a snack of 70/30.  You meals on training days should be 70/30.  Just
before bed, eat a snack of 40/60.  Non-training days keep meals close to 40/60.  The
carbs are for energy, the protein (complete protein sources) for muscle repair.  You may
want to train 3-5 times a week (cardio+weights) depending on your methods. Drink lots
of water.  Eat.