• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

How to go from Infantry recruit to Paratrooper?

D

Drez

I just signed up this week to join the CF and Im 18.

My question is about paratroops training. I am aware of the time it takes to complete basic and then the chosen job, but once Im a full soldier in the infantry, how long should I expect to wait before recieving the paratrooper course once I apply for it?

Is there anything special I should know about it from people who have gotten it and passed it? :warstory:

No idea, but there are guys in my unit (48th Highlanders) who just took the course last year -- the first year it was offered to them.

From what they told me, it all depends on two things:

- There has to be an opening available to your unit for the jump course
- Your CO has to recommend you to the course

Of course, your unit must have enough coin in the coffers to pay for you to go, as well.

The course is four weeks, and according to one jump-trained highlander, you will do five jumps (I think that‘s what he said), including one at night with full equipment, which in the jump world, is the creme-de-la-creme of jumps because it is extremely dangerous and requires the limit of your skills.

Good luck!

I have no idea why anyone would want to get out of a perfectly good airplane while it is moving. If it‘s on fire, ok, I can understand...

You may get the course anytime in your career. Don‘t worry about that until you are at the Regt. As for the Course it is 3 weeks. It consists of one week ground training, week two is the Mock tower ( first three days) then testing. Week three is Jump stage. It is 5/6 jumps. 1. beara55, 2 just rifle/snowshoes,3 full equipment, 4 night, 5 ramp, 6 if your lucky ramp beara55.
I have been a jumper for 20 yrs, 300 staticline, 50 Freefall.

Cool! So Basically could I apply for it as soon as I complete my job training in the infantry?