• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Question about joining as a Medical Officer

WT

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm currently in my second year (out of three) towards a bachelor's degree at McGill University. 
I recently submitted an application to be an infantry officer in the reserves.  However, I was unaware of the vision requirements for the combat arms at that time and unfortunately, I would be classified as a V4.  I've got a few choices ahead of me right now...
1- Call up the CFRC and tell them to trash my application, get laser eye surgery, receive the ok from the operating opthalmologist after 1-3 months and reapply as an infantry officer afterwards.  Doing this, I risk not having my application done in time to be employed this summer depending on the delay the laser eye surgery creates.  (I've called the medical department at my local CFRC and they've told me as soon as the opthalmologist clears me, I'm good to go).
2- Call up the CFRC and ask them to redirect my application towards a med-tech NCM.  I however, have no training that would be directly relevant to this MOC (except doing a degree in microbiology and being a volunteer with saint john ambulance...but nothing concrete)

The predicament I'm in is that I plan on applying to medical school following the completion of my degree at McGill and assuming I'm accepted somewhere apply to the Medical Officer Training Program in my second year.  Which one of the two aforementioned options would be most beneficial in my situation?  On one hand, re-applying as an Infantry Officer would essentially prepare me to be a Medical Officer from a responsibility/leadership perspective and introduce me to the basics of being an officer.  On the other hand, being a med-tech would be more in-line with the medical field and might be more applicable later in life.