• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Question about Stretch marks

Wojtek

Inactive
Reaction score
First off, I tried using the search function for Stretch marks, fat scars and similar words and nothing came up.

Question:
Will I be denied to join the army (any trade) if I have stretch marks on my body? I'm a 24 year old male. I know it's common for females to have it that's why I'm asking.

Why I have it:
The reason I have them (in the back hip area) is because I have NEVER been to a gym in my life but loved playing sports and when I joined a computer College program (2 years) I've been sitting on my ass working and studying hard. During that time I had very little physical events. So I pretty much packed a lot of fat into my body pretty fast.
During the week when I graduated. I went to a gym and started working out a lot. Today I run my 5km every day and work out 5 days a week for 1-3 hours.
Just for clarification, I'm not fat and I consider myself to be in good shape.

Last question, is there a weight limit to join? I've read some people on this forums stating that they had to lose few pounds before they join without any explanation as to why.

Reason why I'm asking is because I am 6"3, and my weight is at 230lbs. I'm not fat, and I can run 5km, 2.4kn in 11:40min.

Thanks in advance if I get a response from a medical staff, and if not oh well...

- Mat

In and of themselves, they aren't a medical disqualifier.  There are some conditions, however, that lead to them because of rapid weight gain that would be disqualifiers. 

Cheers.

MM 

6'3" 230 is well within the arcs of normal.  On the bigger end, but not disgusting by any means.

It's when you see the people who are 5'3" 230 wearing a uniform that you want to choke out recruiters.

You should be fine, especially if you are fit.  Even if you were "fat", if you could still do the job you'd be fine.