• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Questions regarding future enrollment as Aerospace Engineering Officer

AirPeaches

Inactive
Reaction score
Currently I'm a first year engineering student at the University of Manitoba, and as a potential career option (upon graduation), I was considering joining the Canadian Forces through Direct Entry as (hopefully) an Aerospace Engineering Officer. I have some questions, regarding not so much the position, but how to better my chances at getting in. I am considering applying to the reserves in my final year or 2nd last year.

1) I'd be graduating with a B.Sc in Mechanical engineering with an Aerospace specialization, to confirm, would this be satisfactory for this position? Does GPA have any bearing?

2) Does the military consider all forms of employment prior to joining? Reason I ask, I will be interning this summer with my provincial Hydro company (MB Hydro) and have hopes at interning with Boeing Aerospace before graduating. Would this work experience increase my chances at getting accepted and being offered my position of choice?

3) Assuming I pass the academic and medical/physical requirements, what else would make a candidate for this position competitive? ie What can I do aside from work experience, that will increase my odds of getting my position of choice? Of course this is dependent upon openings for this position at the time, but in general, what would make an ideal candidate in terms of personal experience/skillsets for this position?

4) When should/could I apply for full time service? It seems that the application process can be quite long sometimes. If I was graduating in April 2019, could/should I apply for this full time position in September 2018? Or would I have to wait until my studies are entirely finished?