• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

ROTP Civvy-University Cadets--how do we refer to ourselves?

Sailing Instructor

Inactive
Reaction score
After a few months of explaining to people I'm majoring in philosophy, and in the regular navy, and philosophising is my job in the navy, and I'm a MARS officer (God, how that throws people off!) I've grown tired of the 10 minute explanation to the frequent question: 'What are you doing now?'

So I'm asking all the other people here who are going or have gone through this programme to tell me if they found a quick 'job description,' as it were, for themselves.  Or does everyone just have a long-winded explanation knowing that soon they'll be able to say 'naval officer,' 'pilot,' or what-have-you.

Tell them you kill people and eat babies.. :p

J/K

Honestly, just say you're in the navy and help run the ship as part of a crew.  If they ask what your function is, just tell them.

Lost_Warrior said:
Tell them you kill people and eat babies.. :p

J/K

Honestly, just say you're in the navy and help run the ship as part of a crew.   If they ask what your function is, just tell them.

thats a good one. You wont have to worry about anymore awkward convo's after that....

Sailing Instructor said:
After a few months of explaining to people I'm majoring in philosophy, and in the regular navy, and philosophising is my job in the navy, and I'm a MARS officer (God, how that throws people off!) I've grown tired of the 10 minute explanation to the frequent question: 'What are you doing now?'

So I'm asking all the other people here who are going or have gone through this programme to tell me if they found a quick 'job description,' as it were, for themselves.   Or does everyone just have a long-winded explanation knowing that soon they'll be able to say 'naval officer,' 'pilot,' or what-have-you.