• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Seeking Application Advice

flyboy1234

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm interested in joining the RCAF as a pilot. First off, I'd like to give you a bit of background information. I am currently 25 years old and I hold a bachelor's degree in music performance (finished with an overall GPA of 3.7). After music school, I worked some odd jobs then I thought about what I really wanted from life so I decided to  enroll in my local flight school then covid came around. I was only 9 hours into my flight training, however, the experience reaffirmed my decision that I wanted to pursue being an air force pilot. I wanted to get more flight experience so I had decided to go to Confederation college for their aviation program but it was cancelled as a result of the pandemic. Fast forward, I decided rather than "sit on my ***" I should go back to school and now I'm studying electrical engineering at one of the premier engineering programs in the country. I still can't take my mind off of being a pilot though and was hoping to get some advice about making this happen and what I can do that would make my application the strongest it can be.

1) Drop out of engineering and apply as soon as possible. Work out, study/prep for the CFAT, and start working on learning French while waiting for application to be processed.

2) Drop out of engineering and go to Confederation College (21 month program) for their aviation program which is scheduled to resume Fall 2021. I would be 28 once the program is finished, however, I would have quite a bit of flight experience and have my commercial pilot's license. I have heard from some that having civilian aviation experience is beneficial while others have told me the exact opposite.