• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Slotted for PFT

Zach15

Inactive
Reaction score
I received an e-mail from a Captain in Borden telling me I am going to be headed to portage this summer for primary flight training. Good news!

So I have been writing a few of you private messages looking for advice, but figured I may as well start a new topic on the forums here.

I have zero flying experience, only a couple hours at the local airport. I have been told from some people it would be worthwhile to go get a some hours, practice things like circuits and landings. Obviously it would be worthwhile, but is it really needed? Ocdt pay doesn't exactly leave me rolling in dough, but then again failure is not an option in portage and I want to do everything I should to prepare and ensure success.

Others have told me that as long as I stay focused and work hard, I should be alright.

So basically, any advice/information/experiences/stories you folks feel like contributing - I am all ears, and I appreciate it!

For now I will be reading "from the ground up" and trying to control the excitement brewing inside me.

Zach

The problems with getting flying experience prior to PFT are:

1)  The grob is completely different than a c150 or c172 to fly
2)  You will learn the wrong techniques, and will have to un-learn them when you get to PFT

Failure is always an option.  Those who don't think that way end up being too strung out, over analyze everything, get flustered, and fail anyways.

Go in fresh.  Be open to learning.  Study hard.  That's about all you can do.  There are thousands of pilots who have gone thru the system with zero flying experience.