• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Trying to decide between civi and mil medic, with specific questions

bPhill

Inactive
Reaction score
I have been in the reserves infantry for about 10 years. In Sept 2011 I applied to the NCM SEP program and did not hear back from them when it came time to pick a college for Paramedic training. I picked Centennial college because it was closest and now I am in second semester. Centennial college is not a CMA approved school. This week I got asked by the CF component transfer office to submit transcripts so they could determine my eligibility for an interview and from there a transfer offer.

So soon I will have to decide if I want to complete the program I am in or go to a CMA approved college as part of the NCM SEP (assuming the interview goes well). This is obviously a big decision, and mostly it hinges on what life I want to live. If I stay at centennial college I plan to transfer to 25 fd amb reserve unit.

So now for my questions.

I have quite a lot, but most of them come down to this: Do any of you med techs wish you were a civi paramedic? Why or why not?

If you are willing to read a bit more (and thanks if you are):

As part of my clinical placement I have got a chance to experience things that are super high intensity like cardiac arrests, labour and delivery etc. When I ride out with ambulances (or am ultimately employed by EMS) I will get to go to intense things like MVC trauma and things like this. This is very appealing to me, and yes I understand that 24/25 calls will not be that "sexy" and that I may see things I will regret seeing on those "sexy" calls.