• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Trying to foster greater resilience in your organization?

daftandbarmy

Army.ca Dinosaur
Reaction score
Trying to foster greater resilience in your organization? Here are three things you might be able to take away from what I learned from getting blown up ….

“When you find yourself intentionally immersed in a tough situation, where the risk of being attacked or otherwise failing some way is almost a forgone conclusion, you need to acknowledge and embrace reality, then build a strategy to deal proactively with that situation.” Richard Eaton

I got blown up over 30 years ago. Here are three leadership lessons I took away from that experience.

'I am a soldier, and unapt to weep, Or to exclaim on fortune's fickleness.' Henry VI

In 1988 I was an Officer in Britain’s Parachute Regiment, one of hundreds of soldiers charged with countering terrorist activity in South Armagh, Northern Ireland. It was called Bandit Country for a reason. Of the more than 3000 people, mainly civilians, who were killed during ‘The Troubles’, about 400 perished in South Armagh. The Irish Republican Army (IRA), and their Crossmaglen Active Service Unit (ASU), were responsible for the majority of these deaths, at fairly little cost to themselves. It was pretty much like fighting heavily armed ghosts.

On this, my third tour, I was to be based in Crossmaglen. Ground zero for the UK’s ‘War on Terror’ at that time. It was almost a certainty that we in Crossmaglen, branded XMG by an abbreviation mad Army, would be hit at some point during our tour. XMG was the IRA’s backyard, and to leave a military unit untouched during a full tour of duty there would have been an unacceptable blow to IRA prestige.