• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

What RESERVES trades are hiring? Bachelor degree in Computers

chrys

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am 32 years old and I've been living in Canada since I was 18. I studied Bachelor of Computer Science from Canadian university and I also did 1 semester of graduate school (Masters in Computer Science) but haven't finished graduate studies yet. I have over 4 years of experience working as Software Engineer as such. But I have been working as IT Project Manager for last 3.5 years.

I've always wanted to join the reserves but I did not have Canadian citizenship until recently. I am wondering if anyone can advise what trades are hiring? I am interested in joining Reserves - Officer route.

My preference is Air Force reserve -> Navy Reserve -> Army Reserve

Ideally, I'd like to do some technical  trade(Signals Officer? Information Systems Officer? Information Security Officer? etc). I looked up CF website but I am told that CF website is not best source of what trades may / may not be hiring as it's not updated frequently enough.

I live in Toronto. I understand that if I am accepted into Reserves, I'd have to attend BMOQ which can be done on part-time basis. So, I won't have to quit my civilian job and won't need to take too much time off from work. Please correct me if I am wrong.

I understand Borden is couple of hours from Toronto and I don't mind the drive to Borden for training or even weekend parades, week-night parades, if that becomes my unit (?)

I can't answer all your questions, but here's what I can tell you:

The best way to find out what's available is to visit the unit you're interested in joining and talk to their recruiter. Reserve units do their own recruiting.

Computer Science is compatible with a good number of Officer classifications, but again it depends on what unit you join.