• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

C7/C8 refresher drills being done over videos.

gryphonv

Reaction score
Ok first I have to say, I'm no pro when it comes to handling firearms. And I have had no experiance before the CAF.

I've noticed a new policy on the east coast (not sure if it is forces wide) to change/replace the classroom part of refresher training with videos to cover your drills, your tear downs and etc.

I know every Soldier should remain proficient on weapons handling and to seek out oppurtunities to address deficiencies they may have outside of relying on 'refresher' training. But sometimes this can be the best time to relearn something or gain confidence.

Safety is always the most important factor when it comes to weapons handling. Safety in my mind arises out of confidence and confidence is reinforced with hands on training and muscle memory.

As I understand it now, this pilot project will have the expectation on members to be prepaired to be tested when they show up for refresher training instead of getting prepaired at the refresher training.

Members should have more responsibility in taking control of their own development, but I don't really get many 'warm fuzzies' about people using videos to replace the benifit of hands on type training.

Again let me state I am no weapons expert and I'm on the bottom end of the spectrum when it comes to skill in weapons handling. I pass my shoots, I'm safe, but I'm no pro.

I would like to see how some of more knowledgeable members in reguards to weapons handling feel towards this method of training (videos apposed to classroom setting).

I personally don't think that a video can replace formal training it could be good for a person to watch at home the night prior to do refresher training to just jog the memory if the person is rusty and boost their confidence.