• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Depression in Reserves-Journalist Looking for Sources

Jodi/Journalist

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a journalist working on a magazine article called Heroes at Risk that looks at the rates of depression in reserve soldiers. I'd like to interview a Canadian reservist who has been diagnosed with depression and is willing to share their story. I know there is still a lot of stigma surrounding depression in the military and I'm hoping this article will help others. If you'd like to speak with me for the article, please get in touch. I can be reached at jodi@jodihelmer.com.

Thank you,
Jodi

Like many who frequent this forum, I am usually suspicious of journalists seeking input for prospective articles, particularly when the subject matter has embarassment potential for both the organization and individuals serving.  In order for pers to make a better informed decision to cooperate, here is some additional info about this writer.

http://www.jodihelmer.com/about.htm

Blackadder thanks for the link.  Ms. Helmer you were frank about identifying yourself and your intentions here and for that full marks. As noted there may be some skepticism and reluctance in persons discussing this with you either in the forums or by other means (PM, e mail etc), something as a journalist I'm sure you may have experienced before.

Please remember that this site is a private unofficial one and in no way connected with the Canadian Forces, Department of National Defence and/or the Government of Canada. As such anything said here is the personal opinions of those concerned.

Finally to the rest of the site members, if you choose to contribute or participate, fine. Should you choose not to also ok, but let's try and keep the off topic and juvenile antics to a minimum. It stands without reason the D/S will be watching this thread.

STAFF