• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Getting into Shape...

Major_Malfunction

Inactive
Reaction score
I've just had my medical (waiting on new eye exam) and my interview. No doubt my position will be filled before my eye exam comes back so it looks like I will be waiting until April 2010 for selection.

What to do until then?  TRAIN!

I am a certified personal trainer and I specialize in body-fat loss for men and women as well as endurance training.

I am new to this forum and have been reading a lot about people and their fears of not making it through Basic Training.

Well, maybe I can help you out with that...

first things first: Get propper running shoes!!! Walk into the store and tell the kid who really doesn't care that you need shoes for running on track and pavement. Ask him to measure your foot as well. I have wide feet and have been wearing size 12 for ages. Turns out i'm an 11 wide.

Grab a piece of paper and a pen... write down your schedule (school, work, whatever) Find the times where you're going to train and stick to it!

Now, decide what type of training you're going to do. I am a fan of gyms but prefer to box instead. I train Muay Thai for 2 hrs every morning about 4 days a week and I run almost every day.

The gym is great, just remember, you're not in it to be big and powerful (leave that for the kids who think it's important) you're there to become lean, strong, and build endurance. (good weight - really high reps 20-30 - and body weight exercises)

Push-ups and sit-ups are the easiest: do them until you get better... period.

If you can do 5, then do 5. Tomorrow, do 6. (and so on and so forth) I do about 150 - 200 push-ups per day in training and I still barely do 30 in a row. You just need to keep on practicing. Same with Sit-ups; do what you can and keep pushing yourself.