• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

If you were young again...

brian_k

Inactive
Reaction score
If you were young again would you still choose the trade you are currently in or would you go into something different. Please post your current trade and whether you would stay or what you would switch to.

I've gotten a lot of good go's an jobs/taskings as a Sig Op but if I could do it again I'd get LASIK before going into the Army instead of doing it while i'm already in a red flagged trade thats hard to OT out of an go Infantry. But I'm still young an I've still got options for other things, etc.

When I first joined I was a Tfc Tech, now I'm a PMed Tech.  I really like the trade I have now, although Tfc would have had some great opportunities as well.  I just wish I had never gotten out as my 20 years would have been done three years ago.....  :-\

What do you mean - "young AGAIN"??

I'm young - STILL!!!.

To answer your question without the smartassery - if I had to do it all over again, I'd stay in the Infantry. 

I did an undistinguished stint as a 031 a LONG time ago - then I got out.  I re-enrolled as an Adm Clk (831), which trade was amalgamated (along with Fin Clks and CEP Techs) into RMS (836).

Although I had a good career as a support guy - and I'm proud of it - I really think I would have been happier being supported - rather than supporting.  It's a mind-set thing, I think - friends of mine (with as much or more TI than I) are extremely happy in their support roles - and wouldn't think of becoming a Cbt Arms guy.