• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

LSVW Replacement

Darth_Hamel

Inactive
Reaction score
Does anyone know when the army will grace us with a replacement for the LSVW? If so what's the best option available. not that we're likely to get it, though I can't think of anything being worse than the LS :threat:. Would it be possible to do the job with an extended order of G-wagens and Milcots? I know the The Milcot can also hold as much as an LS, though there's the off road limitations. As far As I can make it the best replacement would be more G-wagens for the reg force, I must confess I have no experience with these vehicles, though the Brits ans Ausies use Range Rovers for their CP and Line roles effectively, which are about the same size as the G-wagen.  Personally I'd far prefer an un-f**d Milcot for the reserves as an LS replacement; with higher clearance, unexposed brakelines, no restrictive warranty and better tires.

Can anyone farmiliar with the G-Wagen tell me if say an extended a cargo version could do the LS's job? Or is there a better option out there?

Would venture to say that there would be any number of options for new LSVWs
including the original Italian vehicle upon which the current LSVW was designed and built..... the Cdn version built by a contractor who was going out of business is a shadow of the original design upon which it was selected.

A commercial pattern Pick up?..... we did pretty well with the CUCVs and the old 5/4s... but I imagine that we'll be expected to make do with what we got - for quite some time to come.

geo said:
Would venture to say that there would be any number of options for new LSVWs
including the original Italian vehicle upon which the current LSVW was designed and built..... the Cdn version built by a contractor who was going out of business is a shadow of the original design upon which it was selected.