• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Pilot Selections

Gunshark

Inactive
Reaction score
My post is in order to get a second opinion from a recruiter who may be familiar with processing pilot applicants, both successful and not. I am a long time pilot applicant, and this summer I passed my 2nd attempt at aircrew selection. I am currently waiting to get merit listed and of course I am hoping for an offer, but I’ve also been trying to understand what will happen if I am merit listed but not selected. Do most/all pilot applicants on the merit list get selected within say 1-2 selection boards? Or do some never get selected and sort of just linger on the merit list, and keep redoing their interviews and medicals indefinitely? I’ve received mixed responses. Some say being on the pilot merit list essentially means it’s only a matter of time until the offer, others say only the best get selected from the merit list (and pilot trade is very competitive). I am hoping for the best but also trying to develop a realistic view of the situation and the different possible outcomes. I am applying DEO pilot and last I’ve heard there are about a couple dozen spots remaining for this fall’s selections. It would be helpful to estimate the chances. Thank you to all who have provided their responses and encouragement so far, and to those (from the recruiting office) who may have any additional feedback on this.