• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

21 year vet medical release

Torin

Reaction score
Good day I am a 21 year vet still serving . I am carrying many injuries and have approved claims through vac. My question is if I medically release how does that work I was told I retain 90 percent of my salary is this true etc. I am very fearful of getting out but my age and body are deteriorating and the pain is becoming to much currently I have tendentious in both shoulders and two bad discs in my back plus an adjustment disorder I have pretended for far to long to be healthy and need to start taking care of my health. I am currently slated to go see the doc to possible start the tcat process and possibly get medically release just supper fearful of getting booted than I can’t provide for my family due to my injuries etc. any info or experience that are recent would be great. Thanks for your time to read this post .

If you're released medically you're automatically eligible for CAF Long Term Disability (CAF LTD) which is like an insurance policy.

Through CAF LTD you will be paid 75% of whatever your salary is upon release (like a monthly pay), for 2 years. You can top your salary up another 15% through VACs rehab program for a total of 90% of your salary for that 2 years. If your injuries are significant enough that it prevents you from finding a new job there's wage replacement available through VAC's income replacement benefit as well.

Through CAF LTF you're eligible for 2 years of schooling (up to $36,000 or something like that) after you released if it's for a career and not a hobby course. That's in addition to the $80,000+ that's available to you through the VAC education and training benefit.

If you're looking at T-Cat (1) right now you could be looking at 3-5 years to be medically released if it's supported.