• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

DEO Program Questions

teh_pinoy_boy

Inactive
Reaction score
I have a Computer Science Degree from the University of Alberta with 16 months worth of industry experience and I am interested in joining the Regular Forces as a Direct Entry Officer (DEO).  I have been talking to recruiters about the DEO program, browsing these forums, and talking to friends in the Reserves.  I haven't been able to find much information related to the DEO program that can clarify some concerns I have.  Can anyone help clarify these for me?

The wages posted on the DND recruiting website (http://www.recruiting.forces.ca/media/pdf/other/RegularForcePay.pdf) seem much lower than the normal wages a person with my degree would receive (2LT DEO Base IPC = 3255 * 12 = 39060 annual), Alberta Salary surveys from the past 3 years have an average starting salary between $40000-50000 for people with my qualifications; which, even considering the $40000 over 2 years signing bonus, is still higher within 5 years (factoring salary increases both in the Military and in industry)

I'm interested in going into a trade that will have a lot of time spent in the field (I'm trying to decide between engineer, armour, signals, or electrical and mechanical engineering officer), and some of the discussions I've read here have led me to believe that field pay is substantial for long field operations.  I've also got the impression that cost of living in the regular force, especially while on overseas deployments is almost non-existent compared to the normal civilian cost of living.  My belief, then, is that the actual income from joining as an officer is actually about equivalent to what a normal civilian working in industry would receive.  Does anyone have any incite regarding this?