• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Got into Reserves, but kind of disappointed.

PteAJL

Inactive
Reaction score
I originally applied for the 7th Toronto Regiment as an artillery soldier and was told I had a successful interview, CFAT and fitness test. So today, I had my medical exam and I didn't meet the standard because my vision isn't good enough. However I was offered a position as V-Tech in the 32 Service Battalion. I'm glad that I was offered a job, but I'm feeling kind of disappointed that I am disqualified from the combat arms, as my 3 original choices were combat trades.
Although I am looking forward to the being a vehicle technician, I will always want to be in the combat arms. I have since I was a little child.
Anyone else get really great results from all three components of the recruiting process, and then vision just ruins the whole thing for you?

So you didn't get into the Reserves?  You are just near the end of the recruiting process.  Or have you already been sworn in, etc?

It sucks,  lots of people have been denied from Combat Arms due to vision.  Happened to me,  so I went into Signals(Reg Force) and did that for awhile(7 years).  I got LASIK 6 years ago and am now in the process of going into the Combat Arms(Reserves).  This could be a set back,  but you can always look into LASIK/PRK in a few years and possibly get into Combat Arms.  Or you may end up loving being a Veh Tech and stick with it.

At CFRC Toronto I was told that I couldn't be in any of the combat trades, but I was told that I had a position as VTech at 32 Service Battalion waiting for me.
My occupational trade was changed to that, and now I'm just waiting for my file to get sent to the unit so I can be sworn in, etc.