• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Officer vs NCM with an unrelated degree

VanMat

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi,

I am looking for a second opinion.

When I was talking to a recruiter about the reserves (communications) I was told I could apply as a signals officer or as a NCM (line tech/signal operator) because I have a degree.  They are currently waiving the requirement for a related degree and are willing to accept any degree for officer applications.

My question is, is it foolish to apply as an officer with a degree in economics?  Will I be way behind the other candidates?  Is there that much technical knowledge required that isn't taught in training?

Thanks for you help!

You'll be good at business plans.....

A technical degree will give you a background to what you'll cover, but the Phase training for SigO will teach you what you need to know. Just make sure if something's not clear you study up on it.

VanMat said:
My question is, is it foolish to apply as an officer with a degree in economics?  Will I be way behind the other candidates?  Is there that much technical knowledge required that isn't taught in training?

I've known a Sig O with an art history degree and no other notable experience.  If you've got aptitude and inclination should be fine.

I understand your concern. Yes, you were foolish to get a degree in economics.

However, the CF's requirement for officers to have a degree is twofold.

One, it demonstrates that you have the ability to concentrate, study, and think beyond a highschool level (which, hopefully, you agree is a good thing)

The other reason is that the timeline requirements of undergraduate education give you 3-5 years of additional.... *ahem* maturing....before we even consider trusting you with soldiers' lives (and even then, under the watching, distrustful eye of the platoon Warrant Officer).