• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Reserve Occupations - Summer Course Not Required.

Cossack

Inactive
Reaction score
I have been looking forward to applying for Naval Reserves at the Unit in Toronto.
I e-mailed the unit about positions they were looking to fill and was responded to the next day with the following.

"
Thank you for your interest in the Naval Reserve and HMCS YORK. We are currently looking for cooks, musicians, naval communicators, naval combat information operators, resource management support clerks, and maritime surface and sub-surface officers. All of those positions are part-time from September to April, and then full-time during three of your first four summers (May to August)."

While I would love to join the Reserves (Specifically the Naval Reserves), it is improbable that my full time employer would allot me such time((I am a Trim Carpenter).

I am interested in any information about any occupations primarily in the Naval Reserves that would not force me to take such a substantial time off of my full time employment.

*I am also open to Army/Air Force but Naval is my first choice*.

Thanks for reading

You will be required to take some of your training full time over the summer. Most courses however are not May-August but rather, June-August. There are a bulk of courses that can be taught at the local unit part-time over the weekends throughout the training year however there will be a time where full-time courses are required. If you can't meet your training requirement, there's no need for them to keep you around.

Most employers are reasonable and understand the commitment to your country, if not try and sit down with them and explain the advantages of receiving this training.

http://www.cflc.forces.gc.ca/acf-apc/index-eng.asp